FemBioBiz Season 1 winner gets AIF 2018 nomination

Global Health Biotech Founder: Prof Keolebogile Shirley Motaung

FemBioBiz Season 1 winner, Professor Keolebogile Shirley Motaung’s two natural solutions for skeletal regeneration and repair ointment/cream La-Africa Soother and Plant based morphogenetic factor implants (PBMF) has been shortlisted  amongst the best Top 10  applications for the $185,000 Innovation Prize for Africa (IPA) 2018 in Africa.

La-Africa Soother and PBMF are natural products from medicinal plants that offer novel and alternative treatment opportunities for fracture healing, bone, cartilage regeneration and osteoarthritis to sportsmen and women as a natural anti-inflammatory cream. 

Motaung is the founder of Global Health Biotech, and her innovation was selected out of more than 3000 applicants from 52 countries said she is excited and proud of her innovation. As the winner of the inaugural FemBioBiz Acceleration Programme in 2017, she was awarded the ZAR 250, 000 prize towards business development of her bioscience based innovations in 2017 from amongst 15 regional finalists.  

In keeping with this winning trend, another accolade was her selection as joint winner in the Research and Innovation category of the South African Women in Science Awards awarded by the Department of Science and Technology in August 2018. 

“2017 and 2018 have been the best years of my life in my career. I am excited, being nominated for such an international recognition is a clear indication that my team and I are doing cutting edge research that speaks to the challenges of our country, region and the rest of the world and was translated,” she said.

The AIF award ceremony which is aimed at showcasing African ingenuity as well as recognising and connecting African innovators and entrepreneurs with key innovation ecosystem enablers will take place from October 11th – 12th, 2018 at Kigali Convention Center in Rwanda.

According to the AIF press statement; this year’s submissions have seen significant breakthroughs in ICT, agri-business, public health and the environment/ energy sectors to improve the lives and economic prospects of Africans. 

Each year, 10 nominees are selected in a validated process driven by an expert panel of judges. After face-to-face pitching sessions, the top three winners are selected. IPA winners and nominees receive a prize share of $185,000 and additional incentives.

La-Africa Soother and PBMF are currently being rolled out across major pharmacies in South Africa and will retail  at R100 per 100ml.  

SANBio wishes Prof Motaung everything of the best in her bid to earn another accolade which will boost her bioscience innovations.