Call for Proposals for Innovative Solutions in Nutrition

Call Type

Seed grants


call closed

Call ID

Reference: SANBio / NCRST / 2017

Deadline for submission

28 March 2017

Project selected for funding:

Fortified Marula Nectar Beverages for Vitamin A deficiency Alleviation in Southern Africa; ARC (South Africa) and University of Namibia



The National Commission on Research, Science and Technology (NCRST) in conjunction with NEPAD SANBio (Southern Africa Network for Biosciences) and supported by the BioFISA II Programme (a Finnish-Southern African Partnership Programme to Strengthen NEPAD SANBio) are inviting interested innovators in the biosciences sector to submit grant applications. The grant is for organisations in the SANBio member states* for the nutrition innovations with a proof of concept with potential regional and global impact and can be commercialised. Up to R1 million /N$1 million will be awarded per grant.

Focus Area

Innovative solutions in the nutrition sector, covering value addition to indigenous foods, post-harvest technologies and other nutrition innovations that address the nutrition challenges of the SADC region. The successful technologies must be ready to use or require only short term development.

How to apply

To apply please create a profile via our online application portal at Documents will be available for download once you have created your profile. The minimum requirement is for a partnership between a Namibian organisation and another from the SANBio member states.


Applications will be evaluated in line with the NCRST-SANBio BioFISA II Specific Guidelines for this Call.

Closing Date

All application forms and supporting documents must be submitted via the NCRST online portal by the extended deadline of 00h00 (midnight) on 28 March 2017.

Contact us

For enquiries, please contact us at: and


Annex 1: Call guidelines

Annex 2: Expression of Interest (EoI) Application Form for the Call


* SANBio member states: Angola, Mozambique, South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, Malawi, Namibia, Mauritius, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Seychelles and Zambia